Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (1/27/21)

[ 0 ] January 27, 2021 | |

NSAI Elects Kelly Archer, Corey Crowder, Jessie Jo Dillon, Sharon Vaughn as Board Members

Pictured (L-R, top row): Kelly Archer, Corey Crowder; (L-R, bottom row): Jessie Jo Dillon, Sharon Vaughn

Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) has elected songwriters Kelly Archer, Corey Crowder, Jessie Jo Dillon and Sharon Vaughn as new members of its Board of Directors, the association announced Monday (Jan. 25).

The hitmakers join a roster of highly acclaimed board members, including Sarah Buxton, Nicolle Galyon, Tim Nichols, Josh Osborne, Rivers Rutherford, Laura Veltz and Troy Verges, who were re-elected to two-year terms. Several others were re-appointed to one-year terms: Roger Brown and Lee Thomas Miller as “Legislative Co-Chairs,” Rhett Akins and Caitlyn Smith in the “Artist Writer” board positions, and Brett James in the “Industry Liaison” position.

Steve Bogard, Jeff Cohen, Chris DeStefano, J.T. Harding, Byron Hill, Josh Kear, Jon Nite, Liz Rose, Emily Shackelton, Jenn Schott and Jimmy Yeary are also on the board. Their terms expire in 2022.

Archer, Crowder and Dillon have all recently scored No. 1 hits: Travis Denning’s “After a Few,” Florida Georgia Line’s “I Love My Country,” and Dan + Shay and Justin Bieber’s “10,000 Hours,” respectively. Vaughn was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2019.

Board members are elected through voting by the NSAI Professional Songwriter Membership and appointments by the NSAI Board of Directors. The NSAI Board elections happen in two phases, and the board terms begin each year at the May meeting.

Priscilla Block Inks Worldwide Publishing Deal With Warner Chappell Music

Pictured (L-R): Ben Vaughn (WCM), Priscilla Block, Ryan Beuschel (WCM)

Breakout singer-songwriter Priscilla Block has inked a global publishing deal with Warner Chappell Music Nashville.

Block first gained recognition last year on TikTok thanks to her catchy original songs like the humorous “PMS” and the body-positivity anthem “Thick Thighs.” Her “Just About Over You” reached the top spot on the iTunes all-genre song chart within 12 hours of release, and is currently climbing country radio’s Top 40.

In September, Block signed to UMG’s Mercury Nashville, and has since been named a 2021 Artist to Watch by Pandora and Sounds Like Nashville, a Billboard All-Genre Chartbreaker, part of CMT’s Next Women of Country Class of 2021, and landed a spot on MusicRow’s coveted Next Big Thing Artists list.

Ben Vaughn, President/CEO, Warner Chappell Music Nashville said, “What struck me and Ryan [Beuschel, VP, A&R] when we met Priscilla was her perseverance and her unapologetic and honest take on songwriting. She’s an original artist with a point of view and a legion of loyal fans already behind her. Watch out world.”

Block added, “Ever since I was a little girl I dreamed of making it to Music Row. I feel so fortunate that today, that dream becomes my reality. In 2020 my life was flipped upside down in the best ways possible, and I am incredibly blessed to bring on 2021 with the support of Warner Chappell. One of my biggest passions is songwriting, and my goal as a songwriter is to write songs that hit people in different ways. I only do that by keeping it real, whether it is writing about some dude that broke my heart, or every diet I have failed. I am beyond thankful for Ben, Ryan, and the Warner Chappell family for bringing that little girl that dreamed of making it as a songwriter one day to Music Row!”

Spirit Music Group Strikes Multi-Faceted Deal With Grammy Winner Joy Williams

Pictured (L-R): Derek Wells, Senior Director A&R Spirit Music Nashville/President 2MixMusic; Clay Hunt, Red Light Management; Joy Williams; Frank Rogers, CEO, Spirit Music Nashville; Katie Flynn, Creative Director, Spirit Music Nashville

Spirit Music Group and Spirit Music Nashville announced they have entered into a multi-faceted agreement with four-time Grammy award-winning artist and songwriter Joy Williams.

The deal includes the acquisition of compositions from her various song catalogs, including her Grammy-winning work as part of the duo The Civil Wars, as well as several masters that she controls. In addition, Spirit will administer Williams’ most recent solo album Front Porch, as well as her compositions going forward.

Spirit’s acquisition of Williams’ songwriting catalog for The Civil Wars encompasses the albums Live at Eddie’s Attic (2009), Poison & Wine (2009), 2011 Grammy-winning Best Folk Album Barton Hollow (2011), and The Civil Wars (2013), including Grammy-winning works “Barton Hollow” (Best Country Duo/Group Performance in 2011), “Safe & Sound” with Taylor Swift (Best Song Written for Visual Media in 2012), and “From This Valley” (Best Country Duo/Group Performance in 2013).

Williams’ solo material covered in the acquisition includes her albums One of Those Days (2009), Songs from This/Songs From That (2009), We Mapped the World (2010), Venus (2015), and Venus (Acoustic) (2016), as well as the song “Stand By You,” which was recorded by Rachel Platten and peaked at No. 37 on Billboard Hot 100 and No. 1 on Billboard Adult Top 40. The company will also administer Williams’ most recent solo album Front Porch, which was nominated for the 2020 Grammy Award for Best Folk Album.

Chloe Lawson Inks With Mixtape Music

Chloe Lawson

Chloe Lawson has signed with Mixtape Music. Lawson. A pop indie singer-songwriter from Trenton, Tennessee, she graduated from the University of Memphis Lambuth with a bachelor’s degree in Music and Entertainment in August 2020. She moved to Nashville and interned for ASCAP before signing with Mixtape. Her new single “Alone With You” will be available Jan 21.

Lawson joins songwriters Bobby McLamb, Darrel Rae, Landon Magee, John Pate, and staff member Ashley Mascroft at Mixtape Music.

Mark Irwin Inks With Sprockets Music Publishers

Mark Irwin, Publishing Director for Sprockets Music Publishers, Elizabeth Brahan

Mark Irwin has signed a worldwide publishing agreement with Sprockets Music Publishers.

Irwin has numerous cuts to his credit including the No. 1 singles “Here In The Real World” (Alan Jackson), “Neon Light” (Blake Shelton), “Highway Don’t Care” (Tim McGraw featuring Keith Urban and Taylor Swift) and “Redneck Crazy” (Tyler Farr). He moved to Nashville from the Northeast, and landed his first cut “Meet Me Under The Mistletoe” with Randy Travis for his Old Time Christmas album. Soon after, he co-penned Jackson’s “Here In The Real World,” which was a two-time CMA Song of the Year nominee and an ACM Song of the Year nominee.

Irwin’s other notable cuts include McGraw’s “Looking For That Girl,” Tim and Faith’s “Sleeping In The Stars,” Chris Janson’s “Power of Positive Drinking,” Jimmy Buffett’s “Bama Breeze,” and “That’s How They Do It In Dixie” by Hank Williams, Jr. Irwin is also prominently featured in the official Bluebird Cafe documentary Bluebird.

“Mark’s track record shows what an amazing talent he is. His longevity also proves that he has his finger on the pulse of a creative and ever-changing business,” said Elizabeth Brahan, Publishing Director for Sprockets Music Publishers. “He is one of the most loved and respected writers in town, not only because of his amazing career, but also because his work ethic is second to none. He has an extraordinary ability to connect with new artists. We’re honored that he wants to make Sprockets Music Publishers his home, and we look forward to a long and productive relationship.”

“I am excited to have a champion like Elizabeth in my corner and a company like Sprockets to help us achieve the success we’re shooting for,” said Irwin. “At this point in my career, being part of this awesome team has re-lit my fire!”

Category: Music News

About admin: View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.