Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (1/29/20)

[ 0 ] January 29, 2020 | |

Rusty Gaston Officially Begins Reign At Sony/ATV As Publishing Powerhouse Acquires THiS Music

Rusty Gaston

Rusty Gaston has officially started in his new role as CEO, Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville. MusicRow broke the news that Gaston would be joining the music publishing giant back in July 2019.

Gaston leads all creative and operations for the company’s Nashville division, including the signing of new songwriters and development of strategies to exploit its catalog. He reports to Jon Platt, Chairman and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing.

Sony/ATV has also acquired THiS Music, the Nashville-based publishing company Gaston co-founded with Nashville ‘Songwriters Hall of Fame’ inductee Tim Nichols and acclaimed songwriter Connie Harrington. THiS Music’s roster includes Ben Hayslip, two-time ASCAP ‘Songwriter of the Year’ winner and member of The Peach Pickers, as well as Grammy award winning artist Emily Weisband, who has written major pop hits for BTS, Halsey and Camila Cabello, among others.

Platt said, “Rusty is one of music’s most influential executives today, and his success in developing game-changing opportunities for songwriters makes him the perfect leader to step into this important role at Sony/ATV. I’m excited to work alongside Rusty and our Nashville team on nurturing the next generation of music’s hitmakers.”

Gaston added, “It is a tremendous honor to join Jon and the Sony/ATV family. The Sony/ATV Nashville catalog is the undisputed greatest collection of country music on the planet. As a music lover, I am in awe of the legacy of the songs and the songwriters…past, present and future…and I look forward to working with this amazing team and roster.”

Zack Dyer Signs With Warner Chappell Music

Pictured (L-R): Ben Vaughn (WCM), Bethany Mako (WCM), BJ Hill (WCM), Zack Dyer, Ryan Beuschel (WCM), Will Overton (WCM), Hannah Hall (WCM), Travis Carter (WCM)

Singer/songwriter Zack Dyer has signed a global publishing deal with Warner Chappell Music. Dyer released his first EP, featuring “Wishful Drinking” and “All American,” in 2017.

The Minnesota native moved to Nashville in 2015 to pursue music, and has since played across the city and toured with popular apparel brand, Love Your Melon, performing in hospitals around the country for children battling cancer.

“Zack is an incredible writer and singer whose talent shines through in his lyrics. He’s one to watch and I know everyone will be hearing his hits soon,” said BJ Hill, WCM, VP A&R.

Spirit Music Nashville Signs Neil Thrasher

Pictured L-R: Katie Flynn, Creative Director, Spirit Music Nashville; Michelle Davey, Director of Administration/Office Manager, Spirit Music Nashville; Clay Hatton, Administrative Assistant, Spirit Music Nashville; Neil Thrasher; Brian Bradford, VP of Administration and Operations, Spirit Music Nashville; Frank Rogers, Chief Executive Officer, Spirit Music Nashville; and Derek Wells, Sr. Director of A&R/Production, Spirit Music Nashville.

Neil Thrasher, known for penning songs including Kenny Chesney’s seven-week No. 1 “There Goes My Life,” Rascal Flatts’ four-week No. 1 “Fast Cars and Freedom,” and Jason Aldean’s “Fly Over States,” has inked a deal with Spirit Music Nashville. The new contract covers future works and does not include Thrasher’s back catalog.

“I am super excited to be part of the Spirit family! Frank, the staff, the vibe, and the energy that everyone has, is very inspiring,” Thrasher said. “Can’t wait to get this new venture going and cranking out some new tunes! Let’s do this!”

“Neil Thrasher is a badass,” said Frank Rogers, CEO, Spirit Music Nashville. “His songs have helped shape the sound of country radio, built artist careers and made stadiums sing along. And the amazing part is…he’s just getting started! We could not be more excited to welcome Neil to the Spirit Music family. This is going to be fun!”

In 2013, Thrasher earned ASCAP’s Country Song of the Year for Randy Houser’s “How Country Feels.” In 2010, he earned the Gospel Music Association Dove Awards’ Country Song of the Year for Jason Crabb’s “Somebody Like Me.”

Thrasher is the latest hit songwriter added to Spirit Music Nashville’s roster, as the company has over the past several months inked deals with David Garcia, Jeremy Bussey, Bobby Hamrick, Brinley Addington, Abe Stoklasa, and a joint venture with Derek Wells.

Laura Veltz Surpasses Ashley Gorley On MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart

Laura Veltz has passed Ashley Gorley to hit the top spot on the MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart this week, with co-writer credits on “The Bones” (Maren Morris), “To A T” (Ryan Hurd) and “What If I Never Get Over You” (Lady Antebellum). Gorley occupies the No. 2 position.

Josh Osborne moves up to No. 3, Luke Combs advances to No. 4 and Jimmy Robbins to No. 5.

The weekly MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart, published every week, uses algorithms based upon song activity according to airplay, digital downloaded track sales and streams. This unique and exclusive addition to the MusicRow portfolio is the only songwriter chart of its kind.

Click here to view the full MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart.

Category: Music News

About admin: View author profile.

Comments are closed.