Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (10/9/19)

[ 0 ] October 9, 2019 | |

UMPG Signs Brad Tursi

Pictured (L-R): UMPG’s Ron Stuve, Troy Tomlinson, Cyndi Forman, Brad Tursi, Travis Gordon, Missy Roberts, Terry Wakefield

Universal Music Publishing Group (UMPG) has signed songwriter/artist Brad Tursi to a global co-publishing deal for his future works. In addition, UMPG has acquired Tursi’s catalog of hit songs.

Tursi is a member of Old Dominion, and has written nine Country Airplay No. 1 songs, including six of Old Dominion’s seven chart-topping hits such as “No Such Thing as a Broken Heart,” “Written in the Sand,” “Make It Sweet,” and more. Tursi has also co-written multiple chart-toppers for other artists, including Luke Bryan’s “Light It Up” and Kenny Chesney’s “Save It for a Rainy Day.”

Old Dominion’s songs have earned more than one billion streams. The band is currently headlining arenas and amphitheaters across the globe on their “Make It Sweet” tour. Their forthcoming, self-titled studio album is set for release on Oct. 25, 2019.

Warner Chappell Music Extends Deal With Liz Rose

Liz Rose

Warner Chappell Music (WCM) has extended a worldwide publishing deal with Grammy-winning songwriter Liz Rose and her publishing company, Liz Rose Music. Among her numerous hit songwriting credits are No. 1 singles for  Taylor Swift (“You Belong with Me”), Little Big Town (“Girl Crush”), and Eli Young Band (“Crazy Girl”).

Rose has earned the Song of the Year prize at the 2010 BMI Country Awards for “You Belong With Me” (Taylor Swift), the 2011 ACM Awards for “Crazy Girl” (Eli Young Band), and the 2015 CMA’s for “Girl Crush” (Little Big Town). She has earned multiple Grammy wins including Best Country Song for “White Horse” (Taylor Swift) and “Girl Crush” (Little Big Town), and was named Songwriter of the Year at the 2007 SESAC Awards.

Most recently, Rose co-wrote Miranda Lambert’s single, “It All Comes Out in the Wash” with Lambert, Lori McKenna and Hillary Lindsey as part of the songwriting trio, The Love Junkies. The group is also behind Carrie Underwood’s “Cry Pretty.”

In 2010 Rose launched Liz Rose Music with her son Scott Ponce as a home to burgeoning songwriters. The roster currently includes Joe Fox, Phil Barton, Emily Shackelton, Seth Ennis, Cameron Bedell, Alyssa Micaela, Nick Boyd, Cassidy Daniels, and Caitlin Rose, with writer catalogs from Corey Crowder, Jesse Walker, Jeff Middleton, Chuck Wicks, and Stephony Smith.

Little Louder Music Signs Jackson Dean

Pictured (L-R): Little Louder’s Jefferson Brown, Jackson Dean, Little Louder’s Arturo Buenahora

Singer/songwriter Jackson Dean has signed a publishing deal with Nashville independent publishing house, Little Louder Music.

The Maryland native has opened on tour slots for Brothers Osborne, Jake Owen, Kane Brown, Dylan Scott and more. He will go into the studio this fall to record new music for an upcoming release.

Little Louder Music was founded in 2013 and is the songwriting home for Casey Beathard, Tucker Beathard, Luke Dick, Jeff Hyde, Jonathon Sherwood and Boy Named Banjo members William Reames and Barton Davies. Little Louder recently had its second No. 1 of 2019 with Eric Church’s “Some of It,” following Dierks Bentley’s chart topper “Burning Man.” Additionally, Keith Urban’s new single “We Were,” Eric Church’s “Monsters” and Justin Moore’s “Why We Drink” are currently climbing the country radio charts.

Combustion Music Signs Kolby Cooper

Pictured (L-R): Kelly Lyons (Combustion Music), Chris Van Belkom (Combustion Music), Kolby Cooper, Chris Farren (Combustion Music), Kenley Flynn (Combustion Music), Jared McManus (Back Porch Management)

Kolby Cooper has signed an exclusive publishing agreement with Combustion Music. The native Texan began playing guitar at the age of 12 and played his first show at 14. Cooper has toured throughout Texas promoting his debut EP, Vol. 1, which includes tracks “It Ain’t Me” and “Every Single Kiss.”

Combustion Music’s Chris Farren said, “Kolby is an incredibly authentic artist …honest songs delivered from the heart… we couldn’t be more excited to be partnering with him and his team to help spread the word.”

Cooper added, “What can I say? I’m super excited for this opportunity. Writing has always been the most important part of music for me. In a way, I feel recognized by signing with Combustion. We’re both ready to get things rolling to enhance my art.”


Ross Copperman Moves Into No. 2 Spot On MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart

With co-writer credits on “Living” (Dierks Bentley), “Tip Of My Tongue” (Kenny Chesney) and “Catch” (Brett Young), Ross Copperman moves up three slots this week to the No. 2 position on the MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart. Ashley Gorley stays at No. 1, a position he has been occupying for the tenth consecutive week.

The Top Five is rounded out by Jon Nite at No. 3, Blanco Brown at No. 4 and Hillary Lindsey at No. 5.

Laura Veltz moves into the No. 6 position, and Luke Combs drops down to No. 7.

The MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart, published every week, uses algorithms based upon song activity garnered from airplay, digital downloaded track sales and streams. This unique and exclusive addition to the MusicRow portfolio is the first songwriter chart of its kind.

Click here to view the full MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart.


Category: Music News

About admin: View author profile.

Comments are closed.