Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

RowFax News (8/28/19)

[ 0 ] August 28, 2019 | |

2019 CMA Awards Nominees

The nominees for the 2019 CMA Awards were announced Wednesday (Aug. 28) morning. Select categories were first announced on Good Morning America, with remaining categories revealed during a live stream via Billboard.

Maren Morris tops the list of finalists with six nominations. Brothers Osborne receives four nominations, the second most nominations this year, while 11 artists garner three nominations each—Dierks Bentley,  Eric ChurchLuke CombsDan + ShayScott HendricksDann HuffGreg KurstinKacey MusgravesBlake SheltonChris Stapleton and Carrie Underwood.

For the night’s highest honor, reigning Entertainer of the Year Keith Urban is nominated again in the category alongside Garth BrooksEric ChurchChris Stapleton and Underwood.

Click here to see the full list.

20th Annual NSAI Song Contest Opens Sept. 1

Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI), along with presenting sponsors Martin Guitars and Strings, and Country Music Television (CMT), have revealed details of the 20th Annual NSAI Song Contest.

Entries will be accepted beginning September 1, 2019 and running through October 31, 2019. There are two entry categories: Song and Lyric-Only.

A highlight of this year’s competition is the winner receiving mentoring sessions with multi-Platinum singer/songwriter Elle King, hit pop songwriters Ross Golan and Joe London (also known for the podcast And The Writer Is…), and Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee Tom Douglas, as well as Martin guitars, and cash prizes.

Click here for details.

30A Songwriters Festival Announces First Round of 2020 Lineup

The 30A Songwriters Festival will celebrate its 11th year with performances on the main stage at presenting partner Grand Boulevard’s Town Center. This year’s performances include iconic artists Brian Wilson, John Prine, Indigo Girls, Tanya Tucker, Don McLean, and Herman’s Hermits starring Peter Noone.

The beach towns along Highway 30A on the Gulf of Mexico feature 30 venues presenting over 200 songwriters and 250 solo, band and in-the-round performances throughout the weekend of January 17 – 20, 2020. The 30A Songwriters Festival production team transforms amphitheaters, town halls, restaurants, theaters, bars and covered patios into unique music venues ranging in capacity from 75 to 750 seats indoors and 6,000 outdoors.

The following prominent songwriters are confirmed to perform two shows each throughout the weekend: Dan Wilson (Semisonic), Peter Yarrow (Peter, Paul and Mary), Mindy Smith, Todd Snider, Elizabeth Cook, Birds of Chicago, Sierra Hull, James McMurtry, Carlene Carter, Shawn Mullins, Nikki Lane, Matthew Sweet, Mary Gauthier, Chastity Brown, Hayes Carll, Gretchen Peters, Will Hoge, Marc Broussard, Sarah Lee Guthrie, Darrell Scott, Chely Wright, Over the Rhine, Jeffrey Steele, Pat McGee Band, Amy LaVere, Livingston Taylor, Paul Thorn, John Fullbright, Steve Poltz, The Secret Sisters, Robyn Hitchcock, Miles Zuniga & Tony Scalzo (Fastball), Ken Block & Drew Copeland (Sister Hazel), Aaron Lee Tasjan, Lindsay Lou, Radney Foster, Bob Schneider, Allison Moorer, David Ryan Harris (John Mayer band), Dan Bern, Cory Chisel & Adriel Denae, Amy Ray (solo), Emily Saliers (solo), Robert Ellis, Jonny Fritz, The Honey Dewdrops, Grant-Lee Phillips, Griffin House, Peter Holsapple (The dB’s), Chris Stamey (the dB’s), Chris Stills, Amy Rigby, Abe Partridge, Liz Brasher and AJ Ghent.

Click here for tickets and more information about the 30A Songwriters Festival.

Home Team Publishing Signs Austin Burke

Pictured (L-R, top row): Jake LaGrone (287 Entertainment), Greg McCarn (287 Entertainment), Ryan Beuschel (President, A&R, Warner Chappell Nashville), Ben Vaughn (CEO, Warner Chappell Nashville), Rhett Akins (Partner, Home Team Publishing), Thomas Rhett (Partner, Home Team Publishing), Virginia Bunetta (Partner, Home Team Publishing / G Major Mgmt); (L-R, bottom row): Daniella Rasho (Creative Director, Home Team Publishing), Austin Burke, Jessie Vaughn (Manager, A&R, Warner Chappell Nashville)

Rising singer-songwriter Austin Burke has signed with Home Team Publishing, the company created by Thomas Rhett, Rhett Akins and Virginia Bunetta. Burke has earned more than 53 million Spotify streams of the track “Whole Lot in Love,” and will release his next single, “Love You Most,” on Sept. 6.

“I am thrilled to welcome Austin into the Home Team family,” stated Home Team Creative Director Daniella Rasho. “He has an instinctual knack for melodies, and his lyrics exude Southern charm with a West Coast flair. He displays all the makings of a modern country entertainer, and we cannot wait to embark on this journey together.”

Jerry Flowers Signs Worldwide Publishing Deal With Twelve6 Entertainment

(L-R): Travis Myatt (Twelve6 Entertainment Sr. Director, Publishing), Jerry Flowers, and Heidi Hamels (Twelve6 Entertainment, Partner). Photo credit: Annelise Loughead

Jerry Flowers has signed a worldwide publishing agreement with Twelve6 Entertainment.

Flowers has penned No. 1 hits for Sam Hunt (“House Party”), Jason Aldean (“A Little More Summertime”) and Billy Currington (“Do I Make You Wanna”). He’s also had cuts by Keith Urban, Carrie Underwood, Lady Antebellum, Jason Derulo, Tim McGraw and Faith Hill, among others.

As a touring musician, Flowers has played bass and served as musical director in Keith Urban’s band since 2005. His working relationship with Urban extends back to the ‘90s when Urban, Flowers and Peter Clarke formed the trio, The Ranch. They released their self-titled debut album on Capitol Records in 1998 before disbanding. Flowers played bass on three tours with the Dixie Chicks and also toured with the Counting Crows before reuniting with Urban on the road.

Flowers is the latest signing at Twelve6 Entertainment following their recent deal with Old Dominion’s Trevor Rosen. Additional writers joining the Twelve6 roster will be announced in the coming weeks.

Category: Music News

About admin: View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.