Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News 10/11/12

[ 0 ] October 11, 2012 | |

(L-R): Streamsound co-founder and producer Byron Gallimore, artist Austin Webb, Streamsound’s radio department exec, Mike Wilson. Photo: AristoMedia

Nashville independent label Streamsound Records has announced the signing of new country artist Austin Webb to its roster. Webb’s debut single “It’s All Good” will be released in December.

A Nashville resident and native of South Carolina, Webb aims to combine influences of his favorite artists from country and soul. He is currently on the road visiting radio stations in advance of his single release.

“Austin Webb is one of those artists that is hard to categorize in conventional terms,” says Streamsound co-founder and Grammy-winning producer Byron Gallimore. “I can tell you that he is a truly gifted and creative force that has been driven solely by his music and his songs since he first picked up a guitar at 16 years old.”

More on Webb here.

Streamsound Records was founded in February 2012 by Gallimore with Jim Wilkes and includes up-and-coming artist Jaida Dreyer. The label also has an exclusive distribution deal through Sony Music Nashville.

• • •

Bobby Braddock, Vince Gill, Randy Goodrum, Bob McDill, and JD Souther are among the nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in New York. Also up for 2013 election in the performance category are Jimmy Buffett; Elvis Costello; B.B. King; Ray Davies; Fleetwood Mac’s Stevie Nicks, Lindsey Buckingham, and Christine McVie; Foreigner’s Mick Jones and Lou Gramm; Eurythmics’ Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart; Jeff Lynne; Aeromsith’s Steven Tyler and Joe Perry; Steve Winwood; and Bobby Womack.

Non-performing songwriters up for nomination include Don Covay (“Chain of Fools”), Holly Knight (“Love Is a Battlefield”), Linda Perry (Christina Aguilera’s “Beautiful”), Rick Nowels, Tony Hatch, as well as Dennis Lambert and Brian Potter, and P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri.

The induction gala will take place June 13 in New York City. This news is according to the Associated Press, which received the information prior to the official announcement set for Oct. 16.

• • •

SESAC will begin monthly royalty distributions starting Oct. 31. The new program includes domestic, terrestrial radio performance royalties, and makes SESAC the only PRO offering songwriters and publishers monthly payments. In the past, these distributions were paid quarterly.

The organization plans to roll out monthly royalty distributions to other performance platforms in the near future.

“SESAC is thrilled to offer our talented affiliates the opportunity to receive royalty compensation for their work in the fastest, most accurate way possible,” said Pat Collins, SESAC’s President and Chief Operation Officer. “The new monthly royalty distribution system is yet another example of SESAC’s dedication to providing the most comprehensive and advanced service to our songwriters and music publishers.”

SESAC utilizes Broadcast Data Systems (BDS) to monitor radio performances. It has also fully integrated fingerprinting technology into its survey and distribution systems.

Headquartered in Nashville, the company also has offices in New York, Los Angeles, Atlanta, Miami and London.

• • •

Aaron Scherz

Songwriter/producer Aaron Scherz has signed an exclusive songwriting agreement with Big Machine Music. Scherz was formerly a writer with Big Machine Music’s Mike Molinar and Martha Earls’ publishing company Effusion Entertainment.

Scherz penned the title cut, “The Rock,” on Tracy Lawrence’s 2009 album and has composed national advertising jingles for both Dodge and Coca-Cola. Most recently he experienced cuts by newcomers Greg Bates, Joanna Smith, Matt Kennon and Dakota Bradley. Scherz’s music will also have placement in the upcoming drama Nashville.

“Aaron is one of the most gifted, young, songwriter/producers on Music Row,” said Molinar. “We hope to utilize all of his talents, especially when it comes to identifying and developing new songwriter/artists.”

The independent publishing company is home to writers Justin Moore, Raul Malo, Dustin Lynch, Greg Bates and Sunny Sweeney.

Category: Music News

About View author profile.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.