Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (7/5/18)

[ 0 ] July 5, 2018 | |

MusicRow Awards Honor Top Nashville Songwriters

The 30th anniversary of MusicRow magazine’s awards was celebrated at BMI on Wednesday evening, June 27. Among those awards was the Breakthrough Artist/Writer category. Nominees were Jordan Davis, Jordan Walker, Morgan Wallen, Russell Dickerson and winner Devin Dawson.

Photo: © Moments By Moser Photography

Next up was Chris Janson. He and cowriters Scooter Carusoe and Tom Douglas created “Drunk Girl.” It tied for Song of the Year honors with “Most People Are Good,” the Luke Bryan hit co-written by David Frasier, Ed Hill and Josh Kear.

Those two songs triumphed despite completion from such stellar compositions as “Cry Pretty,” “Life Changes” and “She Ain’t In It,” which were also nominated.

Pictured (L-R): MusicRow‘s Sherod Robertson, Rebekah Gordon, Emily Furman, Courtney Gregg, Ben Strain, Dale Dodson, Mike Whelan, John Ozier, Scooter Carusoe, Chris Janson, Tom Douglas, Tim Wipperman, Terry Wakefield. Photo: Moments By Moser/Bev Moser for MusicRow

Pictured (L-R): MusicRow‘s Sherod Robertson, Kerry O’Neil, Lauren Funk, Marghie Evans, Brian White, David Frasier, Whit Jeffords, Ed Hill. Photo: Moments By Moser/Bev Moser for MusicRow

Robertson pointed out that there were 17 people who wrote their first top-10 country hit during this past year, which he indicated is a sure sign that the genre’s future is bright. The accomplishment qualifies them for MusicRow’s 2018 Breakthrough Songwriter Award. Emily Shackelton was elected the winner for her No. 1, “Every Little Thing,” co-written with artist Carly Pearce and producer/publisher busbee. 

Photo: © Moments By Moser Photography

Pick up a copy of the 2018 MusicRow Awards print issue at to read more about the winners, and read exclusive editorial. Read more about the ceremony at

Matt Jenkins Extends Deal With Warner/Chappell, Tape Room Music, Combustion Music

Front: Kenley Flynn (Combustion), Matt Jenkins, Ashley Gorley (Tape Room Music). Back: Chris Farren (Combustion), Phil May (WC), Ben Vaughn (WC), Chris Van Belkom (Combustion), Blain Rhodes (Tape Room), Cam Caldwell (Attorney), Travis Carter (WC) Photo: Jessica Steddom

Matt Jenkins has extended his publishing agreement with Warner/Chappell Music, Tape Room Music, and Combustion Music. Jenkins’ has penned five No. 1 singles, including the recent multi-week Billboard chart-topper “Do I Make You Wanna” by Billy Currington.

Having recently worked with artists like Michael Ray, Walker Hayes, Blake Shelton, and Little Big Town, some of Jenkins’ hits include Old Dominion’s “Song For Another Time,” Kenny Chesney’s “Setting The World On Fire” featuring P!nk, Keith Urban’s “Cop Car,” Dustin Lynch’s “Where It’s At,” and Florida Georgia Line’s “Confession.” His song “Fade Into You” was also featured in the TV show Nashville.


Downtown Music Publishing Nashville Announces Six New Hires, Promotions

Pictured (L-R): Matt Turner, Natalie Osborne

Shortly before releasing E.G.O, the BMG-published album from Lucie Silvas, Downtown Music Publishing has announced a round of hirings and promotions in its Nashville office.

Matt Turner, formerly of Big Loud, has joined Downtown as Sr. Director, A&R. Silvas’ sister in law, Natalie Osborne, has been promoted to Director of A&R. Garrett Stephenson is appointed office coordinator, Caylan Hays will be Sync Licensing Assistant, and Kyle Coker has become copyright assistant. Katie Roth has been promoted and joined the A&R team as creative coordinator.

MusicRow spoke with Osborne about her promotion and about some of the recent developments at Downtown Music Publishing. Read more at

Category: Music News

About Eric T. Parker: Eric Parker serves as Marketing Manager for MusicRow, RowFax, and the CountryBreakout Chart. He holds a B.B.A. in Entertainment and Music Business with a background working with label, publishing, management and PR firms. View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.