Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (5/16/18)

[ 0 ] May 16, 2018 | |

Radiate Music/BEC Recordings Signs Aaron Bucks

Aaron Bucks

Radiate Music, in partnership with BEC Recordings, has signed Nashville singer-songwriter Aaron Bucks, and today releases his debut single “California.” Produced by Grammy-nominated and Dove Award-winning producer-writer Ian Eskelin, “California” was penned by Bucks, Eskelin and Doug McKelvey. Bucks will release a full album later this year.

While growing up in Vancouver, Canada, Aaron Bucks always gravitated towards music, but the pressure to pursue a conventional career kept him from taking his passion for music and songwriting seriously. Opting instead for culinary school, he spent every weekend performing at weddings and parties while also leading worship at his local church. Through encouragement from fans who’d heard him play and friends who knew his passion for music, an old acquaintance offered to help pay for him to record an album, which pushed him to reevaluate his career path and follow his music passion.

Ryan Griffin Releases Three New Tracks

Ryan Griffin

Singer-songwriter Ryan Griffin, known for co-writing Kelsea Ballerini’s “Dibs,” releases three of his own new tracks on May 11, each produced by busbee.

“Good Company,” “Play It By Heart,” and “Best Cold Beer” are available via all digital streaming services, including Amazon Music, Apple Music and Spotify. “Best Cold Beer” is on Spotify’s New Music Friday playlist.

Griffin previously gained recognition with his Sake of the Summer EP, as “Backseats & Burnt CDs” was featured on SiriusXM as a Highway Find in 2017. The EP’s vulnerable ballad “Woulda Left Me Too” has been streamed more than 5 million times on Spotify, landing on the platform’s all-genre Viral 50 – US chart.

Music Modernization Act Introduced In Senate

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT) introduced the Music Modernization Act in the Senate May 10. The Senate bill (S.2823) is nearly identical to HR 5477, which the House of Representatives passed in a unanimous vote (415-0) on April 25.  The bill combines three unique segments of legislation, including the Music Modernization Act of 2018, the CLASSICS Act, and the AMP Act. A hearing of the Senate Judiciary Committee has bee scheduled for Tuesday (May 15).

Meanwhile, songwriters such as Brandy Clark and Michael McDonald are in Washington, D.C. on Wednesday, May 16 for the 10th annual “We Write the Songs” event, presented jointly by the ASCAP Foundation and The Library of Congress for legislative and cultural dignitaries where dozens of Members of Congress.

The invitation-only event is hosted by Librarian of Congress Carla D. Hayden and ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams, the special evening included performances by Clark (Miranda Lambert, “Mama’s Broken Heart”), McDonald (“Takin’ It to The Streets”), Johntá Austin (Mariah Carey, “We Belong Together,” Mary J. Blige, “Be Without You”), Mike Love (The Beach Boys’ “Good Vibrations”), Jason Mraz (“I’m Yours”) and Suzanne Vega (“Tom’s Diner”).

Category: Music News

About Eric T. Parker: Eric Parker serves as Marketing Manager for MusicRow, RowFax, and the CountryBreakout Chart. He holds a B.B.A. in Entertainment and Music Business with a background working with label, publishing, management and PR firms. View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.