Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (10/25/17)

[ 0 ] October 25, 2017 | |

The 2017 Country Music Hall of Fame Medallion Ceremony

Pictured (L-R): Sarah Trahern, Kyle Young, Lottie Zavala, Seidina Hubbard, Don Schlitz, Alan Jackson, Sally Williams and Steve Turner. Photo: Rick Diamond/Getty Images for Country Music Hall Of Fame & Museum [Click photo to enlarge]

The 2017 Medallion Ceremony inducted new Country Music Hall of Fame members Don Schlitz, Alan Jackson and the late Jerry Reed at the CMA Theater in the museum on Sunday evening (Oct. 22). Schlitz was the songwriter inductee and has, to date, written 50 top-10 hit singles and 24 No. 1’s. In 1985, Don created the now-standard “in the round” songwriter performance format when he and Medallion Ceremony attendees Paul Overstreet, Thom Schuyler and Fred Knobloch joined forces at The Bluebird Café.

Mary Chapin Carpenter, with whom Schlitz wrote such hits as “He Thinks He’ll Keep Her” and “I Feel Lucky,” presented a reverent alto reading of “When You Say Nothing at All.” Charlie Worsham, joined by Schuyler, Knobloch and Jelly Roll Johnson gave a moving “Oscar the Angel.” International pop star Aloe Blacc (Egbert Nathanial Dawkins III) was a revelation on “The Gambler” in a duet with Vince Gill, who inducted his longtime friend.

“I’ve lived for 40 years within parentheses,” he added, referring to the way songwriter credits are written on records. “This is an honor beyond my comprehension.”

Read more with a MusicRow subscription at


The Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony

Pictured (L-R): Buddy Cannon representing NaSHOF inductee Vern Gosdin; NaSHOF inductees Tim Nichols, Walt Aldridge and Jim McBride; Gentry Blackwell representing his father NaSHOF inductee Dewayne Blackwell and NaSHOF executive director Mark Ford.

This year’s Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame induction ceremony filled the ballroom in the Music City Center on Monday evening (Oct. 23). The evening saluted a whopping five inductees – Jim McBride, Dewayne Blackwell, Walt Aldridge, Tim Nichols and the late Vern Gosdin.

Mac McAnally inducted Walt Aldridge, saluted in song by James LeBlanc doing Walt’s 2002 Travis Tritt hit “Modern Day Bonnie and Clyde.” Earl Thomas Conley sang Walt’s “Holding Her and Loving You,” which in 1983 became Earl’s biggest hit.

Buddy Cannon inducted his friend, neighbor and songwriting collaborator, the late Vern Gosdin (1934-2009). Luke Bryan ran through 1988’s toe-tapping honky tonker “Set ‘Em Up Joe.”

Jerry Salley inducted Jim McBride. The Lonesome River Band turned in a bluegrass arrangement of Jim’s 1987 Waylon Jennings hit “Rose in Paradise.” Alan Jackson and some of his Strayhorns band members then sang a medley of “Chasin’ That Neon Rainbow,” “Someday,” “Chattahoochie” and the 1994 stone-country ballad “Hole in the Wall.”

Rusty Gaston inducted Tim Nichols. Lee Ann Womack serenaded the honoree with “I’m Over You,” which was originally popularized by Keith Whitley in 1990. Dustin Lynch did a mash-up of his 2012 hit “Cowboys and Angels” with 2004’s Tim McGraw smash “Live Like You Were Dying.”

Ken Paulson inducted Dewayne Blackwell. The harmonizing trio The Bundys performed a version of “Mr. Blue,” originated by The Fleetwoods in 1959 Dewayne’s first recorded tune. Then Craig Campbell led the audience in a sing-along of Dewayne’s giant 1990 Garth Brooks hit “Friends in Low Places.” Son Gentry Blackwell accepted on Dewayne’s behalf.

The evening began with The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) awards “10 songs I wish I’d written,” as voted on by the membership. Those were 1. “Better Man” by non-attending Taylor Swift; 2.“Body Like a Back Road” by Josh Osborne, Shane McAnally, Zach Crowell and an absent Sam Hunt; 3. “Different for Girls” by Shane with J.T. Harding; 4. “Dirt on My Boots” by Ashley Gorley, Jesse Frasure and an absent Rhett Akins and 5. “Drinkin’ Problem” by Shane and Josh with the non-attending members of Midland. Also 6. “H.O.L.Y.” by busbee, Nate Cyphert and William Larsen; 7. “Kill a Word” by Jeff Hyde, Luke Dick and non-attending Eric Church; 8. “Peter Pan” by Kelsea Ballerini, Jesse Lee and an absent Forest Glen Whitehead; 9. “Vice” by Josh, Shane and non-attendee Miranda Lambert and 10. “80s Mercedes” by busbee and Maren Morris.

Luke Bryan was named the NSAI’s Artist-Songwriter of the Year. 

Ashley Gorley picked up his third NSAI Songwriter of the Year prize. 

“Blue Ain’t Your Color” became yet another organization’s Song of the Year for cowriters Steven Lee Olsen, Clint Lagerberg and Hillary Lindsey

Read more with a MusicRow subscription at


NMPA Celebrates Nashville Songwriters With Gold & Platinum Gala

NMPA 10.19.17 @Moments By Moser Photography

Thursday (Oct. 19), Nashville’s top songwriters and publishers gathered to receive their Gold, Platinum and Multi-Platinum honors from NMPA at the inagural NMPA Gold & Platinum Gala. 

In addition to awarding the 17 Gold, 18 Platinum and 9 Multi-Platinum songwriters, NMPA announced three top annual honors: Top Song, Top Songwriter and Top Publisher. The Top Song award was a tie between “Body Like a Back Road” written by Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne, and “H.O.L.Y” written by busbee, Nate Cyphert and William Larsen, both certified 3x multi-Platinum and with 3 million certified units.

The top two songwriters of the year were McAnally with 4 multi-platinum, 3 platinum, and 2 Gold certifications and Ashley Gorley with 1 multi-Platinum, 4 Platinum, and 9 Gold certifications.

The Top Publisher was awarded to Sony/ATV Music Publishing and Nashville’s President and CEO Troy Tomlinson accepted the award.



MercyMe, Zach Williams Top Winners at 48th Annual GMA Dove Awards

The 48th annual Dove Awards were held at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville on Oct. 17. In addition to being named Artist of the Year and earning Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year, MercyMe‘s frontman, Bart Millard, was named Songwriter of the Year.

The Gospel Music Association handed out trophies in 39 categories plus a few special industry recognitions during the evening, including Song of the year, Hillsong’s “What A Beautiful Name” (writers: Ben Fielding, Brooke Ligertwood; publisher: Hillsong Music Publishing).

Prior to the evening, ASCAP and RCA Inspiration hosted a reception to celebrate ASCAP’s songwriters, producers, and publishers, who all received over 50 Dove Awards nominations this year. RCA Inspiration celebrated receiving nine nominations this year.


ASCAP Executives Jason Reddick, Cristina Chavez, Moya Nkruma, and Jonathan “JJ” Jones take a moment to pose with gospel artist Tasha Page Lockhart


Category: Music News

About Eric T. Parker: Eric Parker serves as Marketing Manager for MusicRow, RowFax, and the CountryBreakout Chart. He holds a B.B.A. in Entertainment and Music Business with a background working with label, publishing, management and PR firms. View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.