Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (5/10/17)

[ 0 ] May 10, 2017 | |

Second Annual AIMP Awards Held At Ryman

The Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) held its second annual awards show on Monday, May 8 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. Read MusicRow‘s Bobby Karl review at

AIMP Rising Independent Songwriter of the Year
Kelly Archer 
Luke Dick
Justin Ebach
Adam Hambrick
Jesse Lee
Jordan Schmidt

AIMP Rising Independent Artist-Writer of the Year
Ryan Beaver
Devin Dawson
Walker Hayes
Natalie Hemby
Carly Pearce
Caitlyn Smith

AIMP Artist-Writer of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Brandy Clark
Eric Church
Maren Morris
Old Dominion
Brett Young

AIMP Song Champion of the Year
Jeff Carlton
Courtney Crist
Celia Froehlig
Shannan Hatch
Bart Herbison
Jeff Skaggs

AIMP Publisher’s Pick
“Leaving Nashville” written by Abe Stoklasa, Donovan Woods
Big Yellow Dog Music, Shakala Publishing

“Love Can Go To Hell” written by Brandy Clark, Scott Stepakoff
Kobalt Music, Sea Gayle Music, Ten Ten Music Group

“Love Triangle” written by Nicolle Galyon, RaeLynn, Jimmy Robbins
Big Machine Music, Prescription, Round Hill Music

“Rich” written by Jessie Jo Dillion, Maren Morris, Laura Veltz
Big Machine Music, Big Yellow Dog Music, Kobalt Music, Revelry Music

“Tacoma” written by Bob DiPiero, Caitlyn Smith
BMG, Cornman Music, Round Hill Music

“Wheels” written by Steve Moakler, Gordie Sampson, Caitlyn Smith
BMG, Cornman Music, Creative Nation Music

AIMP Song of the Year
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” written by Clint Lagerberg, Hillary Lindsey, Steven Lee Olsen Cornman Music, Hillarodyrathbone Music, Sea Gayle Music, Spirit Music

“Head Over Boots” written by Luke Laird, Jon Pardi
Creative Nation Music, Song Factory Music

“Vice” written by Miranda Lambert, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

“Kill A Word” written by Eric Church, Luke Dick, Jeff Hyde
Little Louder Music

“Sleep Without You” written by Kelly Archer, Justin Ebach, Brett Young
Big Machine Music, Downtown Music, Red Creative, Word Country

“80s Mercedes” written by busbee, Maren Morris
BMG, Big Deal Music, Big Yellow Dog Music

AIMP Independent Writer of the Year
Ross Copperman
Zach Crowell
Ashley Gorley
Luke Laird
Shane McAnally

AIMP Independent Publisher of the Year
Big Loud Shirt / Round Hill Music
Big Yellow Dog Music
Combustion Music
Creative Nation Music


Americana Association Honors & Awards Nominees Announced

(L-R), Back Row: Mike Cooley (Drive-By Truckers), Jason Isbell, Jerry Douglas, Caitlin Canty, Patterson Hood (Drive-By Truckers), Abi Tapia (Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum) / L-R, Front Row: Joey Ryan (The Milk Carton Kids), Jed Hilly, Executive Director (The Americana Music Association℠) and Kenneth Pattengale (The Milk Carton Kids) / Photo: Rick Diamond, Getty Images

The nominees for the Americana Music Association’s 16th annual Honors & Awards were announced on May 9 during an event at Nashville’s Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. Among the categories were Song of the Year (below). This year’s ceremony will be held Sept. 13 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium, during the Americana Music Festival and Conference, which runs from Sept. 12-17.

Song of the Year:
“All Around You,” Sturgill Simpson, Written by Sturgill Simpson
“It Ain’t Over Yet,” Rodney Crowell (feat. Rosanne Cash & John Paul White), Written by Rodney Crowell
“To Be Without You,” Ryan Adams, Written by Ryan Adams
“Wreck You,” Lori McKenna, Written by Lori McKenna and Felix McTeigue

See a full list of nominees at


Corey Kent White Joins Warner/Chappell Roster

Pictured (Front row, L-R): Alicia Pruitt (WC), Corey Kent White, Ben Vaughn (WC). Pictured (Back row, L-R): Will Overton (WC), Alison Junker (WC), Matt Michiels (WC), Jessi Vaughn (WC)

Corey Kent White has signed a publishing agreement with Warner/Chappell. The Oklahoma singer/songwriter has opened for Willie Nelson, Lee Brice, Toby Keith, and Chris Janson, and was a top 8 finalist on NBC’s The Voice. In 2016 he released his EP Long Way.

Category: Music News

About Eric T. Parker: Eric Parker serves as Marketing Manager for MusicRow, RowFax, and the CountryBreakout Chart. He holds a B.B.A. in Entertainment and Music Business with a background working with label, publishing, management and PR firms. View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.