Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (2/15/17)

[ 0 ] February 15, 2017 | |

Lori McKenna Earns Grammy For Best Country Song

Pictured (L-R): Lori McKenna, Faith Hill, Tim McGraw, Jason Owen. Photo: @faithhill

Pictured (L-R): Lori McKenna, Faith Hill, Tim McGraw, Jason Owen. Photo: @faithhill

Lori McKenna, Hillary Scott, Sturgill Simpson, Vince Gill, Dolly Parton, and Joey+Rory were among the early Grammy winners on Sunday (Feb. 12) during the Premiere Ceremony.

The Best Country Song Grammy went to Lori McKenna, solo writer of “Humble and Kind,” from Tim McGraw’s Damn Country Music album. Publishers on the song include Songs of Universal/Hoodie Songs.

“This is such an honor,” said McKenna.“Tim McGraw made a moment out of this simple prayer I wrote for five kids.” She thanked Creative Nation and members of Tim McGraw’s industry team. McKenna also earned the Best Country Song Grammy honor last year, for penning Little Big Town’s “Girl Crush,” with co-writers Hillary Lindsey and Liz Rose.

Best American Roots Song went to Vince Gill for penning “Kid Sister” for The Time Jumpers. The track is the title track for Kid Sister, released on Rounder Records. Publishers for the song include Vinny Mae Music.

Gill penned “Kid Sister” to honor The Time Jumpers vocalist Dawn Sears, who died in 2014 after a hard-fought battle with cancer.

“I wish you all would have had the chance to hear the voice of the woman I wrote this song about. Her name is Dawn Sears. She’s one of the best voices you will ever hear in your life. I encourage you to find her voice,” said Gill.

For more on Nashville winners and performers during the televised portion of the 59th annual Grammy Awards, click here.


Still Working Music, Big Deal Music Sign Dylan Altman

Pictured (L-R): Dale Bobo (Big Deal), Chuck Fleckenstein (Still Working), Sara Beal (Still Working), Alex Orbison (Still Working), Dylan Altman, Pete Robinson (Big Deal), Chelsea Kent (Still Working), Tommy Lee James (Still Working), Greg Gallo (Big Deal). [Click photo to enlarge.]

Still Working Music and Big Deal Music have signed hit songwriter Dylan Altman. Dylan has had top charting songs with Jake Owen (“Barefoot Blue Jean Night”), Jason Aldean (“Take A Little Ride”), and Tim McGraw (“Watch The Wind Blow By”). He has also had cuts with artists such as Chase Bryant, Eli Young Band, Trace Adkins, Joe Nichols, and others.

Current Still Working Music writers are Tommy Lee James, Gordie Sampson, Jon Randall, Ryan Lafferty, Chase Bryant, Derrick Southerland, Matt Nolen, and Alana Springsteen.


Jessie Jo Dillon Signs With Big Machine Music

Pictured (L-R): Back Row – BMM’s Senior Director Publishing Alex Heddle; Front Row – BMM’s Assistant Publishing Jillian Whitefield, Jessie Jo Dillon, BMM’s VP/GM Publishing Mike Molinar Photo courtesy of Big Machine Music

Big Machine Music has signed Jessie Jo Dillon to an exclusive co-publishing agreement. Dillon earned a Grammy nomination in 2011 in the Best Song Category for her first-ever cut, George Strait’s “The Breath You Take,” a song she co-wrote with Casey Beathard and her father, Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee, Dean Dillon.

Dillon co-wrote “Girl Next Door,” “Daughter” and “You Can Come Over” with Brandy Clark for her latest album as well as “Rich” with Maren Morris for her CD Hero. George Strait, LeAnn Rimes, Luke Bryan, Jennifer Nettles and more, have also all recorded Jessie Jo’s songs, and she joins a roster that includes Jonathan Singleton, Laura Veltz and Josh Thompson, among others.


Lance Carpenter Joins BMI

Pictured (L-R): Mandolin Entertainment’s Mandi Dixon, Parallel Entertainment’s Tim Hunze and BMI’s Bradley Collins. Seated: BMI songwriter Lance Carpenter.

Newly-signed BMI songwriter Lance Carpenter stopped by the company’s Nashville office to celebrate on Feb. 9. Carpenter has several cuts, including the Kelsea Ballerini chart-topper “Love Me Like You Mean It.”

The singer-songwriter is signed to Parallel Entertainment for publishing and Mandolin Entertainment for artist management.


ASCAP Announces Songwriters Selected for 2017 GPS Project

Pictured, Front row (L-R): ASCAP’s Beth Brinker, GPS Project songwriters Madeleine, Emma Place, Rob Carona and Tommy Kratzert, and ASCAP’s Mike Sistad. Back row (L-R): ASCAP’s Michael Martin, GPS Project songwriters Ian Christian, Martin McDaniel, Lainey Wilson and Katie Cole, and ASCAP’s Robert Filhart. Not pictured: GPS Project songwriters Anna Vaus, Madeleine Slate, Robyn Collins and Blake Griffith, and ASCAP’s Evyn Mustoe. [Click photo to enlarge]

The ASCAP Nashville creative team has announced the songwriters selected for the 6th annual ASCAP GPS Project. The GPS (Guidance from Publishers for Songwriters) program showcases songwriters the creative team has identified as ready or very close to being ready for a publishing deal. Over the course of the year, the writers will be paired with publishers who will listen and critique their songs, and then participate in a follow-up meeting to help develop the writer and solidify the relationship. By the end of the year, the writer will have met with at least five publishers. In 2016, ASCAP’s Evyn Mustoe and Robert Filhart added a GPS Project writers retreat and a songwriters round to the program, which will continue in 2017.

The ASCAP GPS Project class of 2017 includes songwriters Rob Carona, Ian Christian, Katie Cole, Robyn Collins, Blake Griffith, Tommy Kratzert, Madeleine, Martin McDaniel, Emma Place, Madeleine Slate, Anna Vaus and Lainey Wilson.

The publishers participating in the 2017 ASCAP GPS Project include Writers Den, Disney Music Publishing, BMG, Big Machine, This Music, Wrensong, Black River, Big Yellow Dog, Sea Gayle, King Pen Music, Razor and Tie and Sony ATV.

Category: Music News

About Eric T. Parker: Eric Parker serves as Marketing Manager for MusicRow, RowFax, and the CountryBreakout Chart. He holds a B.B.A. in Entertainment and Music Business with a background working with label, publishing, management and PR firms. View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.