Subscribe via RSS Feed
banner ad

Music News (5/30/18)

[ 0 ] May 30, 2018 | |

Big Yellow Dog Music Teams With Atlantic Records

Pictured (L-R): Nina Webb (SVP, Marketing for Atlantic Records), Julie Greenwald (Chairman & COO, Atlantic Records), Pete Ganbarg (President of A&R, Atlantic Records), Carla Wallace (Co-Owner & COO, Big Yellow Dog), Brynn Elliott, Bruce Flohr (Red Light Management), Nathan Chapman (Producer), Katie Hoaldridge (Red Light Management) [Click photo to enlarge]

Nashville-based indie publishing and artist development company Big Yellow Dog Music, known for its work with Maren Morris and Meghan Trainor, has teamed with Atlantic Records for an exclusive partnership. The deal marks the first label venture for Big Yellow Dog Music, with the first release under the new partnership being a track from pop artist Brynn Elliott. “Time Of Our Lives” released May 24, the same day Elliott graduated with a degree in philosophy from Harvard University.

Elliott’s forthcoming Time Of Our Lives EP, slated to release later this year, draws from her philosophy studies and features songs Elliott co-wrote with producer-writer Nathan Chapman (Taylor Swift, Kylie Minogue), including the single “Might Not Like Me,” which has earned more than one million streams.

Canaan Smith Inks Deal With Tree Vibez

Pictured (L-R): Back Row – ASCAP Senior Creative Director Mike Sistad; TVM Creative Director/TVM Tour Manager Adam Romaine; TVM General Manager Leslie T. DiPiero; ASCAP Creative Director Robert Filhart; Front Row – Tyler Hubbard; Canaan Smith;
Brian Kelley. Photo: Tree Vibez Music

Tree Vibez Music has welcomed its latest addition to the writing roster, with Canaan Smith signing on as the company’s newest staff writer.

A native of Williamsburg, Virginia, Smith earned his first Top 10 hit as a songwriter with Love and Theft’s 2009 debut, “Runaway.” He’s built on that success with more co-written hits including cuts by Jason Aldean, FGL and Cole Swindell, as well as Big Loud Records/Atlantic Records breakout star Mason Ramsey, who has made the Smith co-write “Famous” into a viral smash. As an artist, Smith’s co-written 2014 single “Love You Like That” became a Platinum-certified hit, and his latest single “This Night Back” currently has over 25 million digital streams and counting.


Rhythm House Signs Steven Lee Olsen, Brandon Day

Pictured (L-R): Brandon Day, Steven Lee Olsen and Stevie Frasure

Rhythm House has announced the addition of several new members. The Roc Nation joint venture welcomes Steven Lee Olsen and Brandon Day to the roster, and has promoted Stevie Frasure to VP of Creative.

Olsen, known for penning the hits “Blue Ain’t Your Color” and “More Girls Like You,” joins Rhythm House’s writing roster in partnership with Warner/Chappell Music Nashville. As an artist, Olsen is managed by Chris Parr at Maverick and is currently working on his first EP.

Day, a 23-year-old writer and producer, joins Rhythm House with an exclusive songwriting agreement. With a background in rock and pop, the North Carolina native has production and writer credits ranging from The Plain White T’s to Big & Rich.

The Valory Music Co.’s The Church Sisters Offer First Album, ‘A Night At The Opry’

The Church Sisters, a new sibling duo signed to Valory Music Co., has released their first full-length album, titled A Night At The Opry. The 11-track album showcases the harmonies of fraternal twins Savannah and Sarah.

The 22-year-old Virginia natives have been in the studio with songwriter/producer Julian Raymond, putting their vocal stamp on songs penned by Raymond, Maren Morris, Lori McKenna and Trent Dabbs.

Cody Jinks Joins Rounder Records Roster, Thirty Tigers To Release Jinks’ Catalog

Cody Jinks has signed with Rounder Records. His debut album for the label, Lifers, is slated for release July 27. The project’s first single, “Must Be the Whiskey” is due out June 15.

Due to his unique marketing strategy, Jinks has sold in excess of 225k independently-released records and consistently sells out shows all over the country. Thirty Tigers has entered into an agreement to reissue Jinks’ back catalog, including 2016’s breakthrough I’m Not the Devil.

NSAI’s Nashville Songwriter Awards Coming To Ryman Auditorium

The Nashville Songwriters Association International is set to present a star-studded evening on Sept. 19, 2018, during the Nashville Songwriter Awards, presented by City National Bank at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee. Tickets go on sale this Friday, May 25 at 10 a.m. CT at

Bill Anderson will receive the organization’s highest honor, the Kris Kristofferson Lifetime Achievement Award.

Additional honorees will include the 2018 “Song of the Year,” “Songwriter of the Year,” “Songwriter-Artist of the Year,” and NSAI’s coveted “10 Songs I Wish I’d Written” which are chosen by Nashville’s professional songwriters.

LANCO and Chris Janson have already confirmed to perform during the show and there are many star performers and surprise guest stars who will be announced very soon.

This year’s Nashville Songwriter Awards marks the first year that the Nashville Songwriters Association International will present its awards at the Ryman Auditorium in a separate event from the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Category: Music News

About Eric T. Parker: Eric Parker serves as Marketing Manager for MusicRow, RowFax, and the CountryBreakout Chart. He holds a B.B.A. in Entertainment and Music Business with a background working with label, publishing, management and PR firms. View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.